Ralph Tyler’s Rationale

I believe that the Tyler rationale is definitely seen and used in schools today. One of the examples I can remember that applies to the Tyler rationale is in elementary school music class. Specifically I remember the purpose of the class was to be able to read the notes and sign or play an instrument to the tune of the music. Luckily for me, my parents forced me into piano lessons so I already knew how to read music. But for other students who have never seen a treble or bass clef in their life before really struggled at the objective of the class. The way we were assessed is that there would be a line of music that we could either sing, play the piano or play the guitar. This was simple for me only because I had done it before. In my opinion, this is an unfair way to assess because it was too advanced for beginner musicians. This is an example of one of the limitations created by the Tyler rationale. I agree there should be some sort of evaluation and assessment however, as future educators we need to make sure the evaluations we have our students do is fair for all students.

On the other hand, the Tyler rationale in my opinion is a great way to provide a well developed curriculum to the students. It requires a plan, an objective and a way to evaluate. I definitely believe that the Tyler rationale has pros and cons, which every curriculum based theory does. However, in my opinion I believe that the Tyler rationale works in schools and is still used today.

5 comments

  1. mackenziebellegarde · January 24, 2016

    I agree that the Tyler rationale is still used today in classrooms, in the sense that we are still being tested, assessed, and evaluated in one way, rather than being tested in the way that each individual student learns. This reminds me of a photo that has circulated around on social media, where they have a monkey, and elephant, a penguin, aa fish in a bowl, a sea, and a dog all standing in front of a tree, and the educator is shown saying “for a far selection everybody has to take the same exam: please climb that tree”. When you looking at it you think it looks ridiculous, but once you begin thinking of each animal as a different learning style and the tree test as standardized testing, it no longer seems as ridiculous.

    Like

  2. kendellp · January 24, 2016

    I really enjoyed your blog post and reading about your own personal experience with standardized testing. I also enjoyed your point on how it can be a good thing as it allows a well developed curriculum. The first comment on your blog also interests me because I have seen the photo they are talking about, fairness is often talked about in schools but fairness is rarely seen.

    Like

  3. juliaannepapic · January 25, 2016

    I completely agree that the Tyler Rationale is seen today in school. As much as we would like to think that education is more than tests, it is unfortunate that a lot of the evaluations we see in school today are quizzes and tests etc. There are a lot of teachers that choose to step outside the box and choose different ways of evaluating, but there are some teachers that are stuck in the rut of testing as the only way of evaluating.

    Like

  4. melissakazymyra · January 25, 2016

    I like how you pointed out the positives of the Tyler Rationale, it can definitely be an awesome guide for curriculum and following a teaching plan, but it does not always work for all aspects of the classroom. I feel the Tyler Rationale works for some students, but it does not accommodate everyone.

    Like

  5. madishearer · January 25, 2016

    I really relate to your music class example. I also very clearly remember being tested in music class on our ability to read and play music. I have no musical ability and I never did well at there tests. I remember purposely sitting at the back of the room pretending to play my ukulele because I didn’t know how to nor did I have much interest in learning how to. Super interesting post!

    Like

Leave a comment